When Love Just Ain’t Enough

Posted on May 5, 2011. Filed under: Ask Little |

16 year old and a 25er falls in love and beat the odds. Not really a romeo and Juliet scenario but more of a typical may December affair that both parties involved find it too difficult to handle while society has its claws on the moral context of the whole thing. Pressure arises and a breakup followed after more than a year of struggle. “Love knows no boundaries.” A cliché that has been depicting fairytale endings to those whose relationships seemed to be unorthodox in the eyes of those who know no better just didn’t work on this one.

I don’t even want to talk about the “what should and should not” be done in this case. I am firm in my stand that no minor is allowed to indulge themselves in such age disparity simply because they are nowhere ready.  This is where  discovery of one’s self takes place and pretty much have the fun of their youth.

I have been a witness of how the guy got devastated of the breakup that he himself initiated because he was so fed up of the sacrifices his gf has to go through in order to sustain their relationship amidst the self-righteous  public eye. I felt for him because I can sense that he was so in love with the girl but when asked of my opinion about the whole shenanigan, I said it was the right thing to do.

Why so? Here are my points.

  • The girl’s just turned 18. Life is only starting to blossom before her very eyes, so what’s the exclusivity for? Besides, she needs her time to discover what she really wants to do with her life.  Why not give it to her.
  • Age disparity? It counts as of this time. Why? I don’t think the right-aged guy would want to look like a daddy figure every time they go out and settle as an audience as the teens enjoy the night away.
  • The guy thinks the girl’s parental are being unfair. Are they? If I’m in the parents’ shoes, I could’ve looked for evidence, enough to pin the guy down for corruption of a minor.  Young girls tend to feel overwhelmed when being given extra attention and care that usually mature guys provide that sometimes, this elation is often mistaken for love.
  • I agree to the guy’s sentiment that the situation is unfair to him for nobody seems to patronize his ideals on relationships. But wait, I may be emphatic towards his ordeals but he should’ve anticipated such inevitability as part of his consequences.
  • I have nothing against May-December relationships but I think it is only working for people who have identified their goals in life when they start engaging in such a partnership.
  • Maturity counts. Frankly speaking, I haven’t met an 18 year old who is that established.
  • The guy is open to the idea of a reconciliation. I say give it 5 years, then maybe it will be workable, but next year? Much worst, next month? Impossible! A total waste of time.

Separation is a very painful process especially if you’ve fought what you think is a worthy battle. But look at the bright side.  You learn from it and you are giving the both of you the chance to further broaden your horizons and learn more about life. I hope more people get to look at it as a simple case of a half-full glass and make the most of the situation. Let’s not push too hard to avoid more dreadful damages.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...