Archive for July 3rd, 2011

Meet Bart!

Posted on July 3, 2011. Filed under: At Random, Life |

As I strolled along Araneta Street today, I noticed a cage with puppies. Although it’s already a common sight for me, this time, I stopped and checked the “merchandise”. My intention then was really to just do a little bit of “shop talk” to remind the seller to make sure that the puppies are fed and provided with clean water (it was a bit hot earlier…). While I was doing my little preaching to avoid seeing them neglect the dogs that will put food on their tables for the day, my attention got stuck on one of the cages with 3 puppies. One was a black puppy, another was cream-colored and the last one was golden brown.

I began asking questions of the puppies’ origins and of course, like any pro salesman, he led me into his claim that they may be mixed breed but and guaranteed that one of the parents are either 100% pure-bred or at least 50%. Of course, I did not interfere with the sales talk as *Manong Jose seemed to be very eager to make his first sale although I know that the puppies were just mestizo mongrels.

As soon as I asked him to take out a puppy for me to inspect it seemed he read my mind and gave me the puppy that I was secretly eyeing on. As soon as our eyes met, ALAS! There was instant connection!

As the seller continued to persuade me, the puppy seemed to be very cooperative. He was so behaved, charming and there is this unique aristocratic posture that I just wasn’t able to ignore. Still, I played hardball and told Manong that I’ll have to think about it.

After a couple of hours, I went back and haggled. He set a good price and I left with a clinging puppy.

Ladies and gents, meet the newest member of my family, BART! I’m so looking forward to have fun days with our new baby. What a way to start my week.

Happy Thoughts! 😀

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( 2 so far )

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...